Long Island Junior Soccer League
The LIJSL Office will be closed on Monday for Memorial Day and will reopen for normal business hours on Tuesday, May 28

Hall of Fame Class 2020 Announced

December 9, 2020 (Ronkonkoma, NY) – The Long Island Junior Soccer League (LIJSL), the largest youth soccer league in New York, announced their Hall of Fame Class of 2020, during the League’s General Meeting held on December 8th. Due to ongoing COVID protocols, the meeting was held virtually, the first General Meeting to be conducted as such in the League’s 55-year existence.

Kevin Ferrari (Massapequa SC), George “Skip” Haile (Merrick/South Merrick SC), Christopher McGovern (Plainedge SC) and Kostadinos “Kosta” Siskidis (Stony Brook SC, LIJSL Games) were formally introduced as the newest members of the League’s Hall of Fame. The four were to be recognized at the League’s Annual Convention this past March, which was canceled at the early onset of the pandemic.

“As with all-things ‘2020’, we unfortunately had to place the recognition of these four long-time valued volunteers ‘on pause’ earlier this year”, stated Steve Padaetz, the League’s Managing Director to the virtual assemblage of 100 member clubs. “We are pleased to take this opportunity to formally recognize these most-deserving individuals”, he added.

The LIJSL Hall of Fame, established in 1978, seeks to honor those individuals who have made significant voluntary contributions to the development of youth soccer. With this newly announced class, it will now include 117 members.

The League plans to induct this new class at a private ceremony to be held for each of them and their families at the League offices during the early part of 2021.

(To view the bios of each deserving new Hall of Famer, please click on their respective names above)