Long Island Junior Soccer League

28 Recipients of League Scholarships Announced

LIJLSL is pleased to announce the recipients for the League’s annual Scholarship Program.

Established in 1966 under the goal of “Building Character Through Soccer”, LIJSL has continued to foster growth and development of youth through the sport of soccer by teaching players the values of hard work, discipline, responsibility and teamwork.

Each year, LIJSL awards student-athletes in their senior year of high school with scholarships. These well-rounded students exemplify the very character that the League was established upon in 1966.

“This has not been an easy year, but even in a pandemic, we have donors who continue to be generous and recipients that are worthy. We have all found something special in crisis and ways to face these challenges” stated Lynn Scarpati, Scholarship Program Chairperson.

The 2020 scholarship recipients mark the Program’s 40th year of providing exceptional students with awards.

 “The League would like to acknowledge and express it’s appreciation for the tremendous support the (Scholarship) Program has received from sponsors and foundations. The continued backing from our supporters has been an essential piece to the Program’s longstanding forty years of success” said Steve Padaetz, LIJSL Managing Director.

We wish you all great success in your future endeavors. Congratulations to the 2020 Scholarship Recipients!

AwardRecipientHigh SchoolCollege Attending
Addei Matei-Iaia Presidential ScholarshipMatthew PowerNorthport UMass Amherst
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial ScholarshipDanielle DiTomassoPlainedge Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial ScholarshipEmily Rosa-FigueirdoSt. John the Baptist Quinnipiac University
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial ScholarshipScott ThorleyEastport South Manor UMass Amherst
Brittney Walsh Memorial ScholarshipNicole JenalBethpage Felician University
Brittney Walsh Memorial ScholarshipGregory PaulMepham Alfred University
Carolyn Page Memorial ScholarshipMakayla ReardonSacred Heart AcademyFairfield University
Eileen Frazita Memorial Female Student ScholarshipSarah SantacroceMattituck Sacred Heart University
Frank Gorman Memorial ScholarshipHalle TraheyEast Islip Molloy College
Jerry Marinan Memorial ScholarshipMichael LeandrouOyster Bay American University
John R. Pinezich Memorial ScholarshipConor AndrewsCalhoun The Ohio University
Joseph Lombardo Memorial Scholarship Matthew JakubowskySt. Anthony’s St. John’s University
LIJSL Merit ScholarshipOlivia Vinson Wantagh Binghampton University
LIJSL Merit Scholarship Leyla KalmazCarey Molloy College
Matthew Scarpati Memorial ScholarshipRoss Gossett Bellmore JFK University of Maryland
Michael B. Scarpati Memorial Goalkeeper ScholarshipMichael KoutsourasNew Hyde Park Fairleigh Dickinson University
Michael Secko Memorial Scholarship Tyler McElweeMepham SUNY Oneonta
Miles for Matt ScholarshipDeclan GriffinNew Hyde Park Susquehanna University
Miles for Matt ScholarshipGaetano ParisiMepham Roger Williams University
Miles for Matt ScholarshipMegan McIntoshRiverhead Molloy College
Pat Grecco ScholarshipAbigail LandriWest Islip SUNY Oneonta
Peter C. Collins Memorial Presidential ScholarshipRory KingMepham Northeastern University
Sandra Atlas Bass ScholarshipKaylee HoffmanSt. Anthony’s University of Georgia
Sean Urda Memorial ScholarshipDaniel ConigliaroGeneral MacArthur Adelphi University
Rocco Amoroso Memorial Sportsmanship ScholarshipLuca RieneckerSt. Anthony’s University of Rochester
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer ScholarshipAnnalea PasseggiataSmithtown Binghampton University
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer ScholarshipHannah Walz West Hempstead Molloy College
LIJSL TOPSoccer ScholarshipTimothy CappitelliSouth Side Fairfield University